Hard Rubbish Melbourne: Council Bookings and Limits
Find the council service for your address before moving a pile outside. Melbourne’s councils have different booking balances, item lists and collection calendars.
Checked 14 October 2026. Local Skip Bins Melbourne is an independent referral service, not affiliated with any council or its collection contractor. Council bookings use the council routes below; this page’s quote form is for private skip enquiries.
Start with the council for your address
Metropolitan Melbourne and the City of Melbourne are different scopes. The City of Melbourne has its own residential service; an address in Casey, Knox or another municipality uses that council’s entitlement. This comparison covers 31 metropolitan councils, including Mornington Peninsula. Check the property’s waste-service eligibility as well as the suburb name, especially for apartments, businesses and private-bin arrangements.
Compare the included service before reserving a collection
The allocation can reset in January, July or follow a scheduled annual round. A mattress/base booking, bundled branches or cardboard can consume the same allowance in some municipalities. The table keeps each council’s volume, fee and booking rule separate. A stated annual total is not necessarily the size of one pile. Current charges and rules below were checked on 14 October 2026; open the linked service instructions before setting out.
| Council | Service and allowance | Published size | Cost / extras | Timing and booking | Main items / exclusions | Council source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banyule guide | booked allocations; 2 allocations per calendar year; mixed mattress/hard waste uses both | 1 m³ hard waste per allocation, mattresses use separate allocations | Included allocations; additional allocations cannot be purchased | Selected day; set out night before; completion can extend two days | Listed furniture, washing machines/dryers/ovens; mattress booking separate Excluded: Fridges/freezers/air conditioners, glass, batteries, solar equipment, building waste | Council booking / service instructions |
| Bayside | Details not published online; check with council | Check with council | Check with council | Check with council | Check with council | Bayside council information |
| Boroondara | booked; 2 per financial year | Council item-list limits; confirm pile dimensions | 2 included council-bin-service bookings | Current high demand can mean several weeks; set out by 5 am, no earlier than two days | Furniture, whitegoods, appliances, mattresses and e-waste with batteries removed Excluded: Fencing/pallets, renovation materials, asbestos, paint/chemicals, tyres/batteries, rubble | Council booking / service instructions |
| Brimbank | booked; 1 per financial year | 4 m³ hard waste and/or 2 m³ green waste, booked together | Included service; extra hard waste $109.84, green waste $84.08; item fees separate | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Furniture, whitegoods, e-waste, one mattress/base set and max 4 car tyres Excluded: Building/renovation material, excavation dirt/stones and commercial/industrial waste | Council booking / service instructions |
| Cardinia guide | booked; 2 per financial year; 1 double uses both | 2 m³ single, 4 m³ double | Included service; up to 2 extra collections at $100 each | Book early; may fill weeks ahead; April to September quieter | Furniture, whitegoods, e-waste, 2 mattresses/bed bases total Excluded: Building materials, asbestos, cement sheet, fencing, chemicals, batteries | Council booking / service instructions |
| Casey guide | booked; Two included per calendar year | 3 m³ per booking | Included in annual waste charge | Booked week; Sunday set-out | Listed furniture, e-waste without batteries, doors-off fridges; twelve timber fence slats Excluded: General building rubble, paint contents, batteries, gas bottles, asbestos | Council booking / service instructions |
| Darebin guide | booked; 1 per financial year, eligible residential kerbside-service properties | 2 m³ | Included service; paid base $82.30 per 2 m³ plus separately charged items | Allow for current demand of up to four weeks; Monday 6 am set-out | Whitegoods, e-waste, two mattress/base pieces, four standard car tyres; ten short timber pieces under dedicated item rule Excluded: Batteries of any type, large glass, construction material, fence panels/palings, liquids | Council booking / service instructions |
| Frankston | scheduled plus paid bookings; 1 municipal round per financial year for eligible paid-service properties | 2 m³ hard waste and/or bundled green waste | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Allocated week; place out no earlier than 2 days before | Check annual-round item list before set-out Excluded: Use council’s item-specific exclusions; no generic building-waste acceptance | Council booking / service instructions |
| Glen Eira | Booked; Three free hard-rubbish collections per financial year | Under 4 m³ | Included residential service | Before 5:30 pm prior to bin day; set out night before | Listed household items and larger e-waste Excluded: Batteries and embedded-battery devices; check full current item list | Council booking / service instructions |
| Greater Dandenong | booked; 1 per financial year | 3 m³ | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Furniture, electronic appliances, max 2 mattresses and empty open paint tins Excluded: Tyres/car batteries, building/renovation material, asbestos, chemicals/paint/pesticides | Council booking / service instructions |
| Hobsons Bay | booked; 1 included per financial year, second paid | 3 m³ | First included; second $98.57 | Book by 5 pm Thursday for next week | Furniture, whitegoods, mattresses/bases, electronics without batteries Excluded: Paint including dried contents, batteries, asbestos, tyres/rims, soil, rocks and rubble | Council booking / service instructions |
| Hume | booked vouchers; 5 waste vouchers a year shared with other disposal options | 2 m³ per voucher; max 2 vouchers/4 m³ per booking | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Furniture, mattresses/bases, e-waste without batteries and car/4WD tyres without rims Excluded: Building rubble, asbestos, batteries, truck/tractor tyres, loose green waste, timber pallets | Council booking / service instructions |
| Kingston guide | booked; 2 per financial year, single or double booking | 2 m³ single, 4 m³ double | Included service; additional $95 per collection | Before 3 pm on business day before bin day; 5 am set-out | Furniture, whitegoods, e-waste, up to 2 mattresses per booking Excluded: Full excluded-items list in captured source; battery removal applies | Council booking / service instructions |
| Knox guide | booked; 2 per financial year | See individual item limits; aggregate volume not confirmed | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Monday–Wednesday booking: next week; Thursday–Sunday: week after | Furniture; doors-off fridges; e-waste; two mattress/base pieces total Excluded: Building/renovation materials, asbestos, hazardous chemicals, batteries | Council booking / service instructions |
| Manningham | booked; 2 hard-rubbish or bundled-branches bookings per calendar year | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Book by 5 pm Wednesday for next Monday to Friday | Furniture, appliances, max 2 mattresses and 4 car tyres Excluded: Building/renovation materials, asbestos, batteries, gas bottles, garden soil/rocks, joinery/cabinetry | Council booking / service instructions |
| Maribyrnong | booked; 1 per calendar year | 2 m³ hard waste OR 4 m³ green waste | Included service; additional $104.70 | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Furniture, whitegoods, max 2 mattress/base pieces, e-waste Excluded: Renovation rubble, chemicals, gas bottles, batteries, glass, plumbing fixtures | Council booking / service instructions |
| Maroondah guide | booked; 2 single or 1 double; shares allocation with bundled prunings, financial year | 2 m³ single, 4 m³ double | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Available booking week; cannot change/cancel; weekend set-out | Furniture, e-waste with battery conditions, three mattresses; named home-improvement items limited to 0.5 m³ Excluded: Batteries, soil, rubble/pavers, garden waste in hard-waste pile, gas bottles | Council booking / service instructions |
| Melbourne | booked; 1 per financial year for residents; building managers book high-rise collections | 1 m³ | Included service; commercial/retail ineligible | Dates released 2 months ahead, not a promised 2-month wait | Furniture, appliances, e-waste, mattresses, wrapped glass and limited short timber Excluded: Commercial/retail collections ineligible; full banned-item inventory must remain source-specific | Council booking / service instructions |
| Melton | Booked; 2 waste entitlements annually, usable for pickup or tip alternatives | Pickup 3 m³ per entitlement; tip drop-off 1 m³ | Council entitlements; additional vouchers cannot be purchased | High demand; confirm available date. Set out within property boundary the night before | Furniture, e-waste without batteries, appliances; two mattress/base pieces per entitlement Excluded: Building/demolition material, batteries, chemicals, carpet/underlay | Council booking / service instructions |
| Merri-bek guide | booked volume allocation; 2 m³ total per financial year, shared with cardboard/branches | 1 or 2 m³ according to allocation | Included allowance; paid hard waste $100/1 m³ or $200/2 m³ | Usually 2 to 4 weeks for standard bookings | One mattress/base set; e-waste without batteries; doors-off fridges; one tied carpet roll Excluded: Do not mix branches/cardboard booking categories or infer hazardous-waste eligibility | Council booking / service instructions |
| Monash | Scheduled annual, plus paid booked service; One included annual collection in 2026 | 4 m³ annual; 2 m³ additional booked service | Included annual service; paid bookings available | 2026 annual round complete; check paid booking availability | Listed furniture, mattresses, e-waste with batteries removed; bundled branches Excluded: Batteries, building/renovation waste, soil/rubble, chemicals, gas bottles | Council booking / service instructions Annual and paid item limits |
| Moonee Valley | booked; 2 per financial year | 2 m³ per collection; mattresses separately organised | Included service; private-bin properties can purchase | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Furniture, whitegoods, electronics without batteries; mattress collection separately booked Excluded: Building/renovation/demolition material, chemicals, paint tins with lids and electronic adjustable beds | Council booking / service instructions |
| Mornington Peninsula | booked vouchers or paid; 4 waste vouchers on rates notice; voucher entitlement also available to tenants | 0.5 m³ per voucher, 2 m³ total if all 4 used | Voucher or paid quote by volume/type; no invented fixed price | Weekdays except Christmas Day and Good Friday; lead time not published | Furniture, e-waste, mattresses/bases and max 4 car tyres Excluded: Chemicals/paint/batteries, building rubble and soil, asbestos, truck/tractor tyres | Council booking / service instructions |
| Nillumbik | booked; 1 per financial year | 2 m³ | Included service; extra $153.60 plus mattress/bed-base $27.90 each | Booking date, lead time not stated | Furniture, whitegoods, e-waste, mattresses/bases and limited short timber Excluded: Batteries, rubble/soil, fencing, gas bottles, asbestos, chemicals, building waste and tyres | Council booking / service instructions |
| Port Phillip | booked; Houses up to 4 per year; apartment/unit groups up to 6 shared | Hard waste 2 m³ plus green waste 2 m³, combined max 4 m³ | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Selected date; no fixed lead time stated | Carpet, linoleum, mattresses; separate bundled green waste, metal/appliances/e-waste Excluded: Asbestos, car batteries, chemicals/paint, building or excavation waste, soil and liquids | Council booking / service instructions |
| Stonnington guide | scheduled plus paid bookings; Spring and autumn scheduled rounds | Less than 5 m³; ordinary items <20 kg and <1.5 m | Scheduled service; contracted paid collection $166.10 plus item charges | Spring 2026 complete; check next zone calendar or paid booking | Listed metal, whitegoods and e-waste; mattresses separate Excluded: Renovation/building materials, asbestos, paint, gas bottles, car parts | Council booking / service instructions |
| Whitehorse | booked; 2 per financial year | 3 m³ single, 6 m³ double | Confirm this detail in the council service instructions | Book by 5 pm Wednesday for next week; longer when busy | Bulky household items, specified mattresses and bundled branches Excluded: Normal household-bin rubbish, cardboard/recycling and loose garden waste are excluded | Council booking / service instructions |
| Whittlesea | booked; 2 per financial year | 3 m³ per booking | Council service; fee not independently stated | Allow up to 4 weeks; availability varies | Furniture, mattresses/bases, limited short timber and broken household items Excluded: Unidentifiable or locked containers, oil heaters, polystyrene, assembled trampolines and unwrapped glass | Council booking / service instructions |
| Wyndham | booked; 3 services per financial year; can combine | 3 m³ each; combined multiples of 3 m³, up to 9 m³ | Included standard service; eligible paid collection $111.50 | Weekly schedule; book early, no fixed wait stated | Metals, green waste, untreated timber, electrical items and mattresses Excluded: Check council item restrictions and declare mixed material when booking | Council booking / service instructions |
| Yarra | booked; 2 per calendar year | 2 m³; items no longer than 2 m | 2 included household bookings | Currently several weeks; booking portal dates control | Furniture, whitegoods, e-waste; max 1 king mattress, 4 car tyres, 5 × 20 L secured paint containers and 1 gas bottle Excluded: Rubble/soil, asbestos/chemicals, building/renovation material, business waste, truck/4WD tyres | Council booking / service instructions |
| Yarra Ranges guide | scheduled; 1 annual round, late January to end March | 3 m³ hard waste including mattresses/e-waste; 3 m³ metals; 3 m³ bundled branches | Annual council service; separate charge not stated | Annual address week; 2026 round complete; no on-demand booking | Furniture, whitegoods, e-waste, mattresses; separated categories Excluded: Batteries, solar panels, gas bottles, asbestos, construction rubble | Council booking / service instructions |
Book first, then follow that council’s set-out window
Kingston’s deadline is before 3 pm on the business day before bin day; a Monday collection needs a Friday booking. Knox’s booking weekday changes the collection week. Stonnington’s spring 2026 round is complete, so past zone dates are not future pickups. Do not put material outside merely because another street has a pile. The confirmed collection, sticker instructions and permitted location come from the council handling the address.
Where council pages disagree, use the stricter item instruction
Yarra Ranges’ main page caps metals at 3 m³, while its FAQ uses different wording. Darebin’s dedicated item page limits short timber to ten pieces and excludes batteries of any type, despite different counts or battery wording elsewhere. The linked local guides follow those stricter official directions and identify the differences. Check with council before relying on a larger allowance or a looser contractor inventory.
When a private skip is worth comparing
A private bin may suit a load outside the council item list, a larger measured volume or a collection timetable that does not fit the clean-out. It still needs confirmed operator availability, material acceptance, weight limits, truck access and lawful placement. Heavy soil, concrete and bricks need a dedicated load assessment; volume alone cannot approve them. Hazardous waste needs its own approved disposal route.
Use the measured-pile size picker, then check public-land placement permission. The Melbourne service-area guide describes referral coverage; delivery and the responding provider’s availability must be confirmed.
Questions about this collection
Is metropolitan hard rubbish the City of Melbourne service?
No. The City of Melbourne is one municipality. Use the council responsible for the collection address and check that the property is eligible for its waste service.
Can the quote form book a council pickup?
No. This independent referral website is not affiliated with a council or collection contractor. Use the council booking instructions in the table; the quote form is for private skip enquiries.
Do two included bookings always mean two full-sized loads?
No. Councils use different allocation sizes and may share the balance with mattresses, branches or cardboard. Check the size of the individual booking and the annual balance separately.
Can building rubble go in every hard-rubbish collection?
No. Each council has an item list and exclusions. A limited timber or home-improvement exception does not establish permission for a mixed construction load.
Does a council collection entitlement permit a skip on the street?
No. Public-land skip placement follows a separate permit and siting route. Some councils prohibit footpath or nature-strip skips even where road placement can be approved.
Is a private skip guaranteed to arrive sooner?
No. Confirm availability, access, material acceptance and any placement permission with the responding provider before relying on a delivery date.